How do I study? (¿Cómo yo estudio?)

This is, actually, pretty simple. I made a video a month ago talking about how I had to use energy drinks and stuff like that to keep myself awake studying. Well in all truthfulness, that really isn’t what I do. I USED to drink a few energy drinks here and there when I needed the boost but I wasn’t addicted. I mainly pin pointed that aspect of my life and exaggerated it for the sake of the video (people are actually like that IRL, so it isn’t totally irrelevant).

To be honest, I don’t really have a ‘schedule’ where I separate an exact hour to study and so forth. My lifestyle is pretty much, crazy at this moment in time so I can’t really just say “OK, I’ll study at 7pm everyday no matter what” because that isn’t always the case. I do tend to not sleep correctly from time to time because when I actually get myself to study, it’s already 11pm. Mind you, I don’t always do this, just when I realize I have an exam the next morning and I haven’t studied shit for whatever reason.

I tend to be very versatile and sometimes I do more than 2 things at once, even when studying. I know it’s bad and I try not to do it as much but it just happens. I’m a firm believer of  “24 hours isn’t enough” so I try to over expand my capabilities to the max just to get things done in time. Usually when all I have to do is study this is what I do:

  1. I go to my room
  2. Shut the door
  3. Turn off everything (music, tv,etc)
  4. Get my books and everything else in my bed (I don’t have a desk…)
  5. Get to work

I usually spend at least 1-2 hours studying (when I really need to) in a day, 2-3 times a week. I’m ALSO a firm believer that if you always pay attention in class, tend to sit in the front as much as possible and ask a lot of questions if you need to, you won’t have to study too much. The information the professor gives you in a day of class tends to store itself in parts of your brain so usually, if you pay close attention, when you go to review everything it’s always fresh in your mind. The night before and during the day I’ll tend to keep refreshing and reviewing everything I need to know for the exam/quiz/oral report/etc, even 10 minutes before the actual thing. People say this is sort of ‘bottling’ information but for me it isn’t. Why? Because I never tend to actually forget about the information I learned.

Related Articles

Spanish version –>

Esto es, en realidad, bastante simple. Hice un video de hace un mes hablando de cómo tuve que usar bebidas energéticas y cosas por el estilo para mantenerme despierta estudiando. Pues para serles sincera, realmente no es lo que hago. Yo solía beber bebidas de esas aquí y alla cuando necesitaba el impulso, pero no era adicta. Yo solamente use ese aspecto de mi vida y lo exageré por el bien del video (hay personas que son así realmente, por lo que no es totalmente irrelevante).

Para ser honesta, realmente no tengo un “horario” en el que dispongo de una hora exacta para estudiar y así sucesivamente. Mi estilo de vida es más o menos, loco en este momento, así que no puedo realmente decir “OK, voy a estudiar a las 7 pm todos los días sin importar lo que pase” debido a que no siempre es así. Tiendo a no dormir bien de vez en cuando porque cuando realmente me pongo a estudiar, ya son las 11pm. Eso sí, no siempre hago esto, solo justo cuando me doy cuenta que tengo un examen a la mañana siguiente y no he estudiado mierda por alguna razón.

Tiendo a ser muy versátil y a veces hago más de dos cosas a la vez, incluso cuando estudio. Sé que está mal y trato de no hacerlo mucho pero pasa como quiera. Soy una firme creyente de “24 horas no es suficiente”, así que trato de ampliar más mis capacidades al máximo sólo para hacer las cosas en el tiempo adecuado. Por lo general, cuando lo único que tengo que hacer es estudiar, esto es lo que hago:

  1. Voy a mi cuarto
  2. Cierro la puerta
  3. Apago todo (música, televisión, etc)
  4. Busco mis libros y todo lo demás y lo pongo en mi cama (no tengo un escritorio)
  5. Me pongo a trabaja

Yo suelo pasar por lo menos 1-2 horas estudiando (cuando realmente lo necesito) en un día, 2-3 veces a la semana. Yo también soy una firme creyente de que si siempre prestas atención en clase, tiendes a sentarte al frente lo mas posible y haces muchas preguntas si es necesario, no tendrás que estudiar tanto. La información que el profesor te da en un día de clase tiende a almacenarse en las partes de tu cerebro de manera que, si usted presta atención, cuando se vas a estudiar, toda la información esta fresca en tu mente. La noche antes y durante el día sigo estudiando y reviso lo que necesito saber para el examen / test / informe oral / etc, hasta casi siempre 10 minutos antes. La gente dice que esto es una especie de “embotellamiento”, pero para mí no lo es. ¿Por qué?  Porque nunca tiendo a olvidarme de la información que aprendo.


~ by Angie on March 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
